By: Rodriguez of Travis

H.R. No. 2915

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the senior leadership team from Aarhus

2 Business College (AABC) in Aarhus, Denmark, are visiting Austin in

3 May and June 2013 as part of an international collaboration with

4 Austin Community College; and

5 WHEREAS, The partnership between the two institutions began

6 when Dr. Molly Beth Malcolm traveled to AABC as a representative of

7 Austin Community College in December 2012 to study the Danish

8 higher education system; in response, Dr. Gitte Noergaard Nielsen,

9 president of AABC, and Dr. Richard M. Rhodes, president and chief

10 executive officer of ACC, developed a strategic plan to work

11 together to develop new methods of teaching and learning in the

12 digital environment, to create teacher and eventually student

13 exchange opportunities, and to develop cross-Atlantic teaching

14 programs; and

WHEREAS, Three faculty members from ACC visited AABC in April

16 2013 to initiate the partnership, including Jill Brockmann, an

17 adjunct professor in the business and technical communications

18 department, Charles Quinn, dean of business studies, and Linda

19 Smarzik, dean of computer studies and advanced technology; to

20 reciprocate, the president and other administrators from AABC are

21 visiting Austin and ACC to attend classes, tour program facilities,

22 and experience the Lone Star State; representatives from AABC

23 include Dr. Nielsen, as well as the college's chief financial

24 officer, Kenneth Lindblad, vice president of vocational education

H.R. No. 2915

- 1 and training, Hans Henning Nielsen, and international relations
- 2 officer, Lone Hansen; and
- WHEREAS, These distinguished visitors are contributing to
- 4 the future of Texas by working with Austin Community College to
- 5 enhance teaching techniques in this globalized age of technological
- 6 advancement, and it is most fitting that they should be officially
- 7 welcomed and extended the status of honorary Texans; now,
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby recognize Gitte Noergaard Nielsen, Kenneth
- 11 Lindblad, Hans Henning Nielsen, and Lone Hansen as honorary Texans
- 12 and commend them for their achievements as forward-looking
- 13 educational leaders; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 15 for the delegation as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 16 House of Representatives.