H.R. No. 3044

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Barbara Berthold has been recognized as a 2013
 Richardson Real Hero for her outstanding contributions to civic
 life in the community; and

WHEREAS, The Real Heroes Award program is presented annually by the Richardson Coalition to honor those unsung individuals who best represent the spirit of Richardson; through a truly democratic process, nominees are chosen and voted on by members of the community; and

WHEREAS, A native of Germany, Ms. Berthold came to the United 9 States in 2006 and quickly became an esteemed civic leader in the 10 11 Richardson community; after having attended classes through the 12 Richardson Adult Literacy Center, which provides English-as-a-second-language training to area residents, 13 and 14 having subsequently tutored with that organization, she now serves as president of the RALC Board of Directors; in addition, she is an 15 16 active member of Altrusa International, and she has developed a broad understanding of her community through her participation in 17 Leadership Richardson; this dynamic woman played an instrumental 18 role in organizing the 2012 Japan-America Grassroots Summit, and 19 20 she coordinated a Richardson Progressive Dinner in September of the 21 same year; and

22 WHEREAS, Barbara Berthold has demonstrated a lasting 23 commitment to making Richardson an even better place in which to 24 live and work, and in so doing, she has earned the deep respect and

1

H.R. No. 3044

appreciation of her fellow residents; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Barbara Berthold on her selection
as a 2013 Richardson Real Hero and extend to her sincere best wishes
for continued success with her important work; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Berthold as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Carter

H.R. No. 3044

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3044 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House