H.R. No. 3049

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
recognize Rod Nelson on the occasion of his retirement from Texas
RioGrande Legal Aid; and

WHEREAS, Rod Nelson has worked as a legal services attorney for more than 35 years, serving as a staff attorney, managing attorney, and attorney coordinator for the evening legal clinics conducted by Volunteer Legal Services of Central Texas and Texas RioGrande Legal Aid; and

9 WHEREAS, A 1975 honors graduate of The University of Texas 10 School of Law, he has concentrated his practice on consumer law and 11 has developed a reputation among his peers as an extremely 12 competent advocate with impressive skills and an uncommon ability 13 to think logically through complex legal problems; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Nelson is a firm believer in the importance of ensuring that low-income citizens have access to competent legal representation; his work at the evening legal clinics has had a substantial impact on achieving this goal; the clinics have had outstanding success in Travis County, with more than 20,000 individuals receiving free legal advice; and

20 WHEREAS, Mr. Nelson has served as a mentor to countless young 21 attorneys and paralegal professionals, for whom his attention to 22 detail and enthusiasm for pro bono work have served as an 23 inspiration; he is truly deserving of recognition for his 24 dedication and his many achievements; now, therefore, be it

1

## H.R. No. 3049

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Rod Nelson on his unwavering commitment 3 to equal justice and to providing low-income citizens with legal 4 representation and extend to him best wishes for continued success 5 in all his endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Nelson as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Naishtat

H.R. No. 3049

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3049 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House