## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Border safety is a matter of vital importance, and
- 2 South Texas has a growing need for highly trained law enforcement
- 3 professionals to ensure the security of the citizens of the Lone
- 4 Star State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Studies derived from Texas Workforce Commission
- 6 data indicate that the need for law enforcement personnel such as
- 7 police and sheriff's officers, detectives, and criminal
- 8 investigators will see a 21 percent increase between 2012 and 2021;
- 9 accordingly, approximately 2,000 new law enforcement positions
- 10 will be required in Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Starr, Willacy, and
- 11 Zapata Counties; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In order to prepare for the law enforcement
- 13 challenges ahead, the City of Pharr, South Texas College, the Pharr
- 14 Police Department, and the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School
- 15 District have united to work for the development of a
- 16 state-of-the-art training complex, the proposed Regional Center
- 17 for Public Safety Excellence, in Hidalgo County; this complex will
- 18 benefit the entire region by launching innovative programs in
- 19 public safety and security, providing initial and continuing
- 20 education of law enforcement personnel in the Rio Grande Valley;
- 21 individuals will be able to attain basic peace officer
- 22 certification and credit toward an associate of applied science
- 23 degree, or to work toward a wide range of certificates, associate
- 24 degrees, and bachelor's degrees; and

1 WHEREAS, The City of Pharr has committed 40 acres for construction of the center, which would be funded by local 2 3 community college bond proceeds; the RCPSE would be administered by South Texas College in partnership with political subdivisions and 4 participating school districts in the Rio Grande Valley, and 5 through a memorandum of understanding with the city, the police 6 department, and the school district; currently, PSJA ISD offers 7 8 academic and workforce programs leading to certificates and degrees in public safety and criminal justice; the Pharr Police Department 9 10 is licensed by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education to offer a police academy, and the 11 12 department will ensure that RCPSE programs and course curricula satisfy any TCLEOSE requirements for approved training providers; 13 14 and

WHEREAS, Establishment of a center for public safety
excellence received overwhelming support in the Texas house, which
passed House Bill 2883, 83rd Regular Session, with 145 aye votes;
and

WHEREAS, All those who are working on this important endeavor are making a valuable and lasting contribution to public safety, and it is most fitting to recognize them for their commitment to a strong and safe Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby commend the City of Pharr, South Texas College,
the Pharr Police Department, and the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo
Independent School District for their outstanding collaborative
efforts to develop the Regional Center for Public Safety Excellence

- 1 and to address the critical and growing need for highly trained law
- 2 enforcement personnel in the South Texas border region; and, be it
- 3 further
- 4 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 5 for the city, the college, the police department, and the school
- 6 district as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives.

Munoz, Jr.

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/	

Speaker of the House	
ed by the House on May 2	27,

I certify that H.R. No. 3136 was adopted by the House on May 27 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House