By: Seliger (Smithee)

1

S.B. No. 268

C.S.S.B. No. 268

Substitute the following for S.B. No. 268: By: King of Hemphill

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT

2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to 3 the district attorney for the 287th Judicial District and the 4 county attorney of Oldham County.

5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 6 SECTION 1. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 7 read as follows:

8 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 9 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors, 10 and the following state prosecutors:

11 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg 12 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 13 39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 14 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 15 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 16 123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 17 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 18 271st, 286th, 287th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial 19 20 districts;

(2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,

1

C.S.S.B. No. 268

Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro,
 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith,
 Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker,
 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

5 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of 6 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, 7 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, 8 Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, 9 <u>Oldham,</u> Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry, 10 Webb, and Willacy.

11

SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2013.