1-1 By: Eltife S.B. No. 1855 (In the Senate - Filed March 25, 2013; March 26, 2013, read time and referred to Committee on Higher Education; 1-2 1-3 first 1-4 April 11, 2013, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 6, Nays 0; April 11, 2013, sent to printer.) 1-5

1-6

1-7		Yea	Nay	Absent	PNV
1-8	Seliger	X			
1-9	Watson	X			
1-10	Birdwell	X			
1-11	Duncan	X			
1-12	Patrick			X	
1-13	West	X			
1-14	Zaffirini	X			

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1-15 1-16 AN ACT

1-17 1-18 relating to the Texarkana College District.

1-19

1-20

1-21

1-22 1-23

1-24

1-25 1-26 1-27 1-28

1-29 1-30

1-31 1-32 1-33 1-34

1-35

1-36

1-37

1-38

1-39 1-40 1-41

1-42 1-43 1-44 1-45

1-46 1-47

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTION 1. Subchapter E, Chapter 130, Education Code, is amended by adding Section 130.0824 to read as follows:

Sec. 130.0824. GOVERNING BOARD TEXARKANA OF COLLEGE (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this the governing board of the Texarkana College District of this subchapter, may by resolution or order of the board decrease the number of board members from nine to seven, with four members elected from respective commissioner precincts and three members elected at large.

A resolution or order of the governing board under this section must establish transition terms of office to conform to elections held in even-numbered years and staggered six-year terms, with the initial board terms of three members expiring in 2014, of two members expiring in 2016, and of two members expiring in 2018.

SECTION 2. Section 130.203, Education Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec. 130.203. TEXARKANA COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. The service area of the Texarkana College District includes the territory within:

(1) the taxing district, which includes <u>all</u> [part] of [the municipality of Texarkana and part of the Pleasant Grove Independent School District;

 $\left[\frac{(2)}{(2)}\right]$ Bowie County;

(2) [(3)] Cass County, except the territory within the Hughes Springs, Avinger, and Pewitt independent school districts;

(3) [(4)] the Avery Independent School District located in Red River County.

SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2013.

* * * * * 1-48