## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 2

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Fulbright American Studies Institute for Korean Secondary School Teachers of English and to extend a warm welcome to the Korean exchange teachers participating in this outstanding program as they visit Texas in January and February of 2013; and

WHEREAS, The Fulbright American Studies Institute for Korean Secondary School Teachers of English is one of 51 nonprofit Fulbright Commissions worldwide, and its board of directors includes Koreans and Americans representing government, education, and the private sector; since its establishment in Austin in 2002, the institute's professional and scholarly exchange program has helped promote understanding between the United States and Korea; and

WHEREAS, Korean teachers participating in the program enhance their knowledge of teaching methodology, techniques, and materials relating to American English as a second language and broaden their understanding of American culture and society; and

WHEREAS, The Korean teachers develop relationships with American colleagues and improve their English skills through advanced content-based instruction and reinforcement of language-learning strategies; and

WHEREAS, The program includes a five-week residency in Austin and a two-week secondary school site residency in schools around the state, and it ends with a two-day period of reflection and integration back in Austin; and

WHEREAS, Program participants observe a variety of secondary school classes, coteach portions of classes for English as a second language, give cultural presentations on Korea, collaborate with teacher mentors, and observe schoolwide activities at their host schools; and

WHEREAS, The Fulbright American Studies Institute for Korean Secondary School Teachers of English is being hosted for the 13th year by the Texas Intensive English Program in Austin; Dr. Terry Simon serves as director; Dr. Woody Smith serves as program director; and Dr. John Schmidt, Mimi Parris, Jill Rolston-Yates, Dr. Benné Willerman, Mary Gordon Spence, Dr. Michael Hydak, Dr. Ewa Siwak, Crystal Kusey, and Nancy Jackson are the participating Texas International Education Consortium faculty members; and

WHEREAS, The Korean high school exchange teachers visiting Texas are Jinkyung Bae, Baekyong Choi, Kyunghee Choi, Bokja Han, Youngjoon Hwang, Kwisoon Jung, Suyoung Kang, Hee Won Kim, In Hwan Kim, Jiyeong Kim, Soon Kim, Jingyung Kwak, Hana Na, Dongha Shin, Gahyun Sung, and Jeho Woo; and

S.R. No. 2

WHEREAS, The Korean middle school exchange teachers are Yeonju Choi, Dong Won Kim, Jieun Oh, and Jihyun Park, and the Korean elementary school teachers are Miseon Choi, Mi Sun Hur, Hyun Sook Kang, Haesouk Kim, Kwangsub Kim, and Kyoungwon Kim; and

WHEREAS, It is a genuine pleasure to offer these teachers the warm hospitality of the Lone Star State, and it is sincerely hoped that their visit is a most enjoyable one; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby extend to the Korean teachers visiting Texas a warm welcome and best wishes for further success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}, \ {\tt That} \ {\tt a} \ {\tt copy} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt Resolution} \ {\tt be} \ {\tt prepared} \ {\tt for} \ {\tt them} \ {\tt as} \ {\tt an} \ {\tt expression} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt high} \ {\tt regard} \ {\tt from} \ {\tt the} \ {\tt Texas} \ {\tt Senate}.$ 

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 8, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate