SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 20

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize January 20 through January 26, 2013, as Texas Nurse Anesthetists Week; and

WHEREAS, Nurse anesthetists have been providing anesthesia care in the United States for nearly 150 years and are the oldest nurse specialty group in the country; the first school of nurse anesthesia was formed in 1909 at Saint Vincent Hospital in Portland, Oregon; and

WHEREAS, Today, nurse anesthetists practice in every state and administer approximately 32 million anesthetics to patients every year; they work in a wide variety of settings, including large academic medical centers, small community hospitals, outpatient surgery centers, pain clinics, and physicians' offices; and

WHEREAS, All certified registered nurse anesthetists in Texas hold a current state license as a registered nurse, have graduated from an approved educational program, and have passed a national examination; they may work together with anesthesiologists or in independent practice; and

WHEREAS, They play substantial roles in service to the military, the Veterans Administration, and public health facilities, and they are the sole anesthesia providers in 67 Texas counties, almost half of the rural counties that have surgical or obstetrical services; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Nurse Anesthetists has more than 3,000 certified and student members and is celebrating its 77th anniversary in January of 2013; our nation and state are indebted to these health care professionals for the vital medical services they provide, and it is indeed fitting that they be honored for the crucial roles they fulfill; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby recognize January 20 through 26, 2013, as Texas Nurse Anesthetists Week; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of these dedicated health care specialists.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 23, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate