SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 27

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Texas Historical Commission in recognizing the businesses that have been named as recipients of the Texas Treasure Business Award; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award honors companies that have been in continuous and substantially similar independent operation in the state for at least 50 years with an uninterrupted employment history and good standing with the state; and

WHEREAS, Previous winners of this award include Adams Extract; Big Red, Incorporated; Burford and Ryburn, LLP; Carneiro, Chumney, and Company; Chacon Autos; Cox Manufacturing; DeWese's Tip Top Café; Dixie Flag Manufacturing Company; Don Strange of Texas; DPT Laboratories, LTD; Dury's Gun Shop; Earl Abel's Restaurant; Ebensberger-Fisher Funeral Home; First State Bank of Burnet; Firstmark Credit Union; H. E. Butt Grocery Company; Holt CAT; and Houston Jewelry; and

WHEREAS, Additional previous award winners are Jacala Mexican Restaurant; Johnson Roofing; J. R. Mooney Galleries of Fine Art; Kiolbassa Provision Company; Marmon Mok Architecture; Mills County State Bank; New Braunfels Smokehouse, Incorporated; Penner's Menswear; the Queen Isabel Inn; R. H. McCrary Hardware; Roberts Jewelry; the San Angelo Standard-Times; San Antonio Federal Credit Union; Security Service Federal Credit Union; Stewart Title Company; Strickland Drugs; Toudouze Market; and Univision, KWEX-TV; and

S.R. No. 27

WHEREAS, New award winners are the Buckhorn Saloon and Museum; Frontier Enterprises; Holland Jewelry, Incorporated; McBride's Guns, Incorporated; Page Southerland Page; and The RK Group; and

WHEREAS, The success of these exemplary businesses has played an important role in the growth and progress of our state, and it is truly fitting that they be recognized for their resilience, their longevity, and their many outstanding contributions to the communities they serve; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the recipients of the Texas Treasure Business Award and extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared to commemorate the relaunch of the Texas Treasure Business Awards program.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 23, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate