## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 93

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas 4-H and Youth Development Program for its legacy of outstanding service to the state; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary program traces its roots to the 1908 founding of the Jack County Boys Corn Club, which taught improved production methods to a group of 25 farm boys; other early efforts were the Milam County Girls Tomato Club and a 1914 Waller County initiative to teach African American boys and girls how to supplement their families' diets by growing vegetable gardens and raising poultry; and

WHEREAS, Texas 4-H evolved from these early groups and today provides young people with opportunities to practice life skills, develop strong character, and improve their readiness for the workplace and college; the organization's pledge and motto call on members to make productive use of the four Hs, which stand for head, heart, hands, and health, in order to make the best better; and

WHEREAS, Conducted by the employees and volunteers of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Prairie View A&M Cooperative Extension Program, Texas 4-H has through the years involved millions of young people in educational and developmental programs, including Operation Military Kids and efforts to help those affected by disability and hardship; and WHEREAS, The members of Texas 4-H have made countless

WHEREAS, The members of Texas 4-H have made countless worthwhile contributions to our state, and it is truly fitting that they be recognized for their many achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the Texas 4-H and Youth Development Program and extend to its members best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
Texas 4-H as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 30, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate