SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 111

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize February 4, 2013, as Texas Capitol Schoolhouse Day and welcome the representatives of the Texas Capitol Schoolhouse and the Capitol Schoolhouse Foundation to the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Since 1995, a Texas Capitol Schoolhouse event has been held at the start of each legislative session to demonstrate how educational technology funding is being used to improve public schools in our state; the theme for the event this year is Texas Exceptionalism in Educational Technology; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Capitol Schoolhouse participants this year are from the Amarillo, Coleman, Coppell, Del Valle, Denton, Irving, Klein, Pasadena, San Saba, and Ysleta Independent School Districts; the Texas School for the Deaf; East Austin College Prep; and the remote virtual learning sites in the Pasadena Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, Classrooms are set up in the Capitol Rotunda basement, where teachers and students conduct classes as they do every day in their home districts; students use computers to work with video and sound editing, robotics, iPods, iPads, online virtual learning environments, one-to-one laptop computing, online interactive learning, and other educational technologies; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Capitol Schoolhouse project provides the opportunity for legislators and other state leaders to observe firsthand how state funding for educational technology is preparing the young people in school today with the tools they will need to succeed in the future; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 111

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the participants in the Texas Capitol Schoolhouse project and extend to all best wishes for a successful Texas Capitol Schoolhouse Day; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Lucio, Patrick

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 4, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate