SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 147

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to welcome the Texas Alliance of YMCAs as it celebrates February 13, 2013, as YMCA Appreciation Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Alliance of YMCAs has been a cornerstone in communities around the Lone Star State for 150 years; its programs and services foster youth development, healthy living, and social responsibility; and

WHEREAS, An inclusive and sustaining organization for all people, regardless of faith, race, age, or income, this venerable alliance serves more than 1.3 million Texans; it is leading the battle against childhood obesity with wellness programs like Activate America and collaborates with the Centers for Disease Control and hospitals and foundations to increase fitness among Texas families; and

WHEREAS, The YMCAs of Texas serve more than 600,000 children and teens through quality programming such as early learning child care and after school care services; its beloved youth camps allow participants to explore the outdoors while building self-esteem and social skills; and

WHEREAS, A long-standing force in healthy living, this invaluable resource provides nearly \$25 million in direct financial assistance to individuals, children, and families each year to permit them to participate in programs that enhance their well-being; more than 47,000 volunteers give their time annually to YMCA causes; and

WHEREAS, This volunteer spirit, along with the YMCA's mission to serve all individuals, lies at the core of the Texas Alliance's successes and achievements over the past 150 years; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the Texas Alliance of YMCAs as it celebrates YMCA Appreciation Day at the State Capitol and extend best wishes for a memorable celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 11, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate