SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 189

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pride in recognizing the Wylie Chamber of Commerce for its many contributions to the citizens of Wylie and the Collin County area; and

WHEREAS, The Wylie Chamber of Commerce was organized to advance the economic, cultural, and civic welfare of the City of Wylie and to promote the prosperity of the business community; the chamber encourages the growth of existing industries and businesses and the relocation of firms and individuals to the area; and

WHEREAS, The City of Wylie was incorporated in 1887; in 1920, the city received electrical service and street lights, and in the 1930s and 1940s, the city claimed the title of Onion Capital of the World; in the 1970s, Wylie began to grow, and the city continued to grow significantly in the 1980s and 1990s; and

WHEREAS, The city faced catastrophes in the 1990s--a tornado in 1993 and two major fires in 1998; the citizens turned these disasters into opportunities to revitalize their city, and today Wylie is one of the fastest-growing communities in Collin County, the region, and the state; and

WHEREAS, Committed to improving the lifestyle of area citizens, the Wylie Chamber of Commerce focuses on economic development and quality of life and follows policies that reflect the needs and concerns of the people of the whole region; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Wylie Chamber of Commerce on their dedication to the chamber's mission and their many accomplishments on behalf of the community and extend warm greetings to the Wylie city officials, chamber members, and school district members who are visiting the Capitol; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Wylie Chamber of Commerce as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Estes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 12, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate