## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 212

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the members and veterans of the United States Armed Forces and Texans across the state in observing the 45th anniversary of the Tet offensive; and

WHEREAS, The Tet offensive was launched by the North Vietnamese Army and the Viet Cong on January 30, 1968, to coincide with the beginning of the lunar new year; it consisted of a concerted attack on South Vietnamese military bases, an attack on all major population centers in South Vietnam, and a siege of the United States Marine Corps garrison at Khe Sanh; and

siege of the United States Marine Corps garrison at Khe Sanh; and WHEREAS, The offensive came as a surprise to the United States and South Vietnam; despite the lack of warning, and even though they were vastly outnumbered, American troops performed with uncommon courage and boldness; the siege of Khe Sanh became one of the largest battles of the war, with 6,000 Marines facing tens of thousands of North Vietnamese troops over a period of three months; the United States Embassy in Saigon was attacked and the imperial city of Hue was the scene of thousands of casualties; and

WHEREAS, The men and women who fought in these historic battles set a lasting standard for others to follow, and their selfless devotion and strength have left an indelible mark on the world; it is truly fitting that their resolve, valor, and sacrifice be recognized on the 45th anniversary of this pivotal moment of the Vietnam War: now, therefore, be it

moment of the Vietnam War; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd
Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the veterans of the Tet offensive
and call on Texans everywhere to recognize their extraordinary
contributions to our nation's history; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the veterans of the Tet offensive.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 18, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate