SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 226

In Memory of Mary Frances Diedrick Haas

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Corpus Christi in mourning the loss of noted philanthropist and education supporter Mary Frances Diedrick Haas, who died February 1, 2013, at the age of 98; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Haas was born July 22, 1914, in Carteret, New Jersey; she left her hometown at the age of 14 to attend college and earned a degree and teaching certificate from Trenton State Teachers' College; she married Paul Haas on August 30, 1936, and the couple enjoyed 72 years of marriage together; and

WHEREAS, The family moved to Corpus Christi in 1941; she played a vital role in the creation and growth of the University of Corpus Christi, now Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi; in 1954, she and her husband established the Paul and Mary Haas Foundation, which has awarded more than \$3 million in scholarships to more than 1,000 deserving students and distributed some \$15 million in aid to support the community; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Haas was active in numerous civic organizations, including serving as a Pink Lady volunteer at Spohn Hospital and as a member of the YWCA board; she was a founding member of Parkway Presbyterian Church; and

WHEREAS, A woman of vision, determination, and generosity, she gave unselfishly to others, and she leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by her family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Mary Frances Diedrick Haas; and, be it further

family of Mary Frances Diedrick Haas; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Mary Frances Diedrick Haas.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 18, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate