SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 266

WHEREAS, The El Campo High School football team enjoyed an outstanding 2012 season, advancing all the way to the University Interscholastic League 3A Division I state championship game on December 14 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; and

WHEREAS, In reaching the title contest for the first time since 1967, the Ricebirds finished the year with an impressive record of 14 wins and just one loss; and

WHEREAS, El Campo claimed the District 25-3A championship after its undefeated run through the regular season schedule; in the playoffs, the team bested La Grange, Somerset, Ingleside, and Carthage High Schools to reach the state final, where the season ended in a hard-fought loss to Stephenville High School; and

WHEREAS, Several El Campo players were recognized with individual accolades for their notable performances in 2012; Cole Hunt was named the Associated Press 3A Defensive Player of the Year and was joined on the All-State first team by Brett Prihoda and Trey Martin; at the district level, Mr. Hunt was honored with an Overall Most Valuable Player award, while Mr. Prihoda and Bryce Brandl were chosen as Defensive and Offensive Most Valuable Players, respectively; in addition, 13 other members of the squad earned first-team or second-team All-District honors; and

WHEREAS, The Ricebirds also received essential contributions from the other members of the roster: Jack Davis, Koy Kresta, Michael Wall, Kory Supak, D. J. Washington, Colton Parson, Tyler Pittman, Kade Ilse, Stephen Gaines, Clayton Harp, Andrew Saucedo, Seth Pustejovsky, Hunter Winkleman, Jarrin Henderson, Wayne Hargrove, Tamall Terrell, Kyle Kerzee, Jeremy Supak, Montray Johnson, Blaine Fuechec, B. J. Flagg, Clay Gonzales, Abraham Montes, Antonio Cooper, Kevin Dove, Cody Jones, Travis Woods, Chance Nohavitza, Clint Kruppa, Victor Hernandez, Juan Reyna, Charles Powers, Chris Nielsen, DeShawn King, Clay Glaze, A. J. Martinez, Alex Montes, Zeke Tsika, Tobias Thornton, James Espericueta, James Kyle, Ryan Nielsen, Marshall Mach, Brent Hayes, Reid Strnadel, Jacob Harton, Terrence Brown, Antonio Perez, Aaron Espinosa, Nick Salyer, Colt DuBroc, Matt Edwards, Spencer Singleton, Kahlil Randall, Ryan Drapela, Andre Booker, and Clay Kresta; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated athletes were ably guided by head coach and athletic director Bob Gillis as well as assistant coaches Wayne Condra, Alan Roberts, Kerry Brandl, James Harp, Matt Sohrt, Dewayne Arkadie, Craig George, Elliott Babcock, Matt Sandoval, Mark Woods, Russell Krenek, Matthew Schoener, William Brown, Jesse Galvan, Kevin Gordon, Brady Peterson, and Hermann Mauch; and

WHEREAS, The team further benefited from the invaluable support of superintendent Mark Pool, principal Rich DuBroc, trainers Dean Easter and Cassey Janak, student trainers Savannah

S.R. No. 266

Kemberling, Kaylee Martinez, Ashley Acuna, Britain Zalman, Sydney Gonzalez, and Blayne Allgayer, and videographer Tyler Moreno; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating hard work, sportsmanship, and an unwavering commitment to excellence, the members of the El Campo High School football team have earned the admiration of their fellow students and their many fans in the local community, and they may indeed reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby congratulate the El Campo High School football team on its successful 2012 season and its appearance in the UIL 3A Division I state championship game and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hegar

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 20, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate