## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 268

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, on the occasion of its 100th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, an international public service organization, was founded on January 13, 1913, at Howard University by 22 college-educated African American women, four of whom were native Texans: Zephyr Chisom Carter, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, and Myra Davis Hemmings; and

WHEREAS, The sorority's chapters across Texas support volunteerism and charitable activities that are mandated by the organization's five-point program; the program promotes economic and educational development, international awareness and involvement, physical and mental health, and political awareness and involvement; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority chapters have given back to their communities in a variety of ways, with an emphasis on empowering and guiding at-risk African American adolescent girls; chapters also participate in the political process by hosting candidate forums and working to increase the involvement of their members in every level of government; and

WHEREAS, Dallas has been selected as one of 22 cities across the nation to serve as a host for the passing of the National Torch, which commemorates 100 years of service and outstanding leadership by the sorority's members; it is truly fitting that this exceptional organization be recognized for its exemplary achievements; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 268

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, on its invaluable public service and extend to its members best wishes for a memorable 100th anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate