SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 278

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Mary Lee Foundation as it celebrates its 50th anniversary on March 1, 2013; and

WHEREAS, An outgrowth of one young woman's dream, the foundation has provided homes and invaluable services to tens of thousands of clients and their families throughout Central Texas; and

WHEREAS, The foundation began with a modest two-bedroom home in Austin, four girls from the Texas State School, and the unwavering faith of 23-year-old Charlene Crump; at the time, few professionals believed these girls could enjoy alternatives to institutional living; and

WHEREAS, Through her experiment, Charlene Crump demonstrated that adults with disabilities could indeed live on their own, maintain jobs, and take care of themselves and their homes; her efforts were reinforced in the late 1960s when social worker and minister Don Lilljedahl joined the organization as its director; and

WHEREAS, Over the past five decades, the foundation has become a vital Central Texas resource for both adults and children with disabilities or a history of abuse; today, it operates several facilities and myriad programs to help individuals attain independence, productivity, and a sense of self-worth; and

WHEREAS, Overseen with dignity, optimism, and respect,

1

S.R. No. 278

this exemplary foundation has improved the lives of many Texans with disabilities, and it is most deserving of the many successes and benchmarks it has achieved; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Charlene Crump and Don Lilljedahl on the occasion of the Mary Lee Foundation's 50th anniversary and recognize March 1, 2013, as Mary Lee Foundation Day; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Mary Lee Foundation as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 27, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate