SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 280

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Margaret Moran for her outstanding service as national president of the League of United Latin American Citizens and for her 30 years of exemplary service to her community; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Moran is serving her third term as president of the League of United Latin American Citizens, the nation's largest and oldest Hispanic civil rights membership organization; over the course of her more than three decades of service to the league, she has held a variety of important national leadership roles, including vice president for women and parliamentarian, and she serves on the board of its National Education Service Centers; and

WHEREAS, In addition to her work with the League of United Latin American Citizens, she is involved in a variety of community and civic organizations, including the Instituto de los Mexicanos en el Exterior and the American Bar Association's Commission on Hispanic Legal Rights and Responsibilities, and she was recently elected chair of the Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility; and

WHEREAS, Among her many awards and commendations are the Puerto Rican Solidarity Award and the District XV Lifetime Achievement Award, and she has been inducted into the League of United Latin American Citizens Women's Hall of Fame; she has had a profound impact on the Hispanic civil rights movement in Texas and across the nation, and she is truly deserving of recognition for her exceptional service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Margaret Moran on her many outstanding achievements and extend to her best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate