SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 284

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Texas EMS, Trauma and Acute Care Foundation in recognizing the emergency medical services workers of this state and in celebrating February 26, 2013, as Emergency Medical Services, Trauma, and Acute Care Advocacy Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated specialists of the Texas trauma care system represent the best and brightest of this essential profession; these skilled professionals are trained to respond quickly and decisively in life or death situations, and, very often, they put their own lives at risk; and

WHEREAS, The Texas system has 265 designated trauma facilities supported by 22 regional advisory councils; the sector employs more than 58,000 emergency medical services providers, over 30,000 nurses, and more than 1,900 trauma and emergency physicians, who work together to provide expert care and vital rehabilitation services throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, The Texas EMS, Trauma and Acute Care Foundation strives to minimize the human suffering and economic cost occasioned by health-related emergencies, traumatic injuries, and crisis events; it also works to promote excellence and accountability in the delivery of emergency, trauma, and acute care throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, Every Texan relies on acute-care providers in the event of an accident or tragedy, and these lifesaving professionals are most deserving of praise for their tireless efforts on behalf of their fellow man; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the emergency medical services workers of this state and join them in celebrating Emergency Medical Services, Trauma, and Acute Care Advocacy Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate