SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 321

WHEREAS, Multiple sclerosis, also known as MS, is a lifelong, unpredictable, and often disabling disease of the central nervous system; and

WHEREAS, Multiple sclerosis affects an estimated 2.5 million people worldwide; three-quarters of the people with MS are women; most people are diagnosed during the prime-of-life years, ages 20 to 50; and

WHEREAS, Concerned Texans across the state, along with the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, are committed to doing something about multiple sclerosis now; they support programs and services to enhance the lives of people affected by the disease, raise funds and raise awareness through Bike MS and Walk MS events, and invest in research toward a cure for the disease; and

WHEREAS, Today is the National Multiple Sclerosis Society's 2013 Texas Public Policy Conference, a gathering of multiple sclerosis activists committed to creating positive change through advocacy for Texans affected by multiple sclerosis and other chronic conditions; and

WHEREAS, Though much still remains to be done, the work of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society and the other organizations working in behalf of those with this disease are helping to create a dynamic movement with the ultimate goal of achieving a world free of multiple sclerosis; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby recognize February 27, 2013, as National Multiple Sclerosis Society Texas Public Policy Conference Day at the State Capitol and March 11 through 17, 2013, as Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week in Texas and encourage all efforts that inform Texans about the disease and help bring us closer to a world free of multiple sclerosis; and, be it further

world free of multiple sclerosis; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of these worthy efforts.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 27, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate