SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 332

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Kelly Burnett of Texarkana, who has been named one of the top youth volunteers in Texas for 2013 in the 18th annual Prudential Spirit of Community Awards; and

WHEREAS, These prestigious awards honor young people across America for outstanding volunteer service to their communities; the awards program is conducted by Prudential Financial in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals with the support of numerous national youth, service, and professional organizations; and

WHEREAS, Kelly is a senior at Texas High School; as a Distinguished Finalist, she is receiving an engraved bronze medallion for her work in founding the Young Philanthropists' Club; and

WHEREAS, Kelly was moved to undertake this initiative after recovering from a rare illness for which she had undergone three years of treatment; she involved 25 young people to help raise money through chores and jobs, and she has donated the funds to a variety of local and international causes; and

WHEREAS, The success and vitality of our communities, our state, and our American society depend in great measure upon the dedication of young people like Kelly who use their time and talents to serve others; and

WHEREAS, Kelly is an excellent representative of the fine young people in our state and our nation who work unselfishly for the betterment of their communities, and she is truly deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 332

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Kelly Burnett for her commitment to serving others in her community and extend to her congratulations on being named a 2013 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards Distinguished Finalist; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of the high regard of the Texas Senate.

Eltife

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 4, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate