SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 393

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in recognizing the 2013 recipients of the Texas Medal of Arts Awards; and

WHEREAS, These prestigious honors are bestowed every two years by the Texas Cultural Trust; they spotlight outstanding Texans who have contributed to the cultural enrichment of the Lone Star State through their creative endeavors or their support of the arts; and

WHEREAS, In keeping with years past, the 2013 selection is a virtual who's who of Texas creative luminaries; the categories and respective winners are: Arts Education, Big Thought--Gigi Antoni; Corporate Arts Patron, *Texas Monthly*; Dance, Houston Ballet; Foundation Arts Patron, Kimbell Art Foundation; Individual Arts Patron, Gene Jones and Charlotte Jones Anderson; Multimedia, Eva Longoria; Music, Steve Miller; Television, Ricardo Chavira; Theatre, Joe Sears and Jaston Williams; and Visual Arts, James Surls; and

WHEREAS, The arts enhance the quality of life in Texas, and each of these honorees has played an important role in broadening the state's spectrum of creative endeavor and building a legacy for future generations to appreciate; and

WHEREAS, The 2013 recipients are being honored on March 4 and 5, 2013, in Austin; their contributions to our state's cultural legacy are indeed praiseworthy and deserving of celebration; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the 2013 Texas Medal of Arts awardees and extend to them sincere best wishes for success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Eltife

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 4, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate