SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 410

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Mexican and Spanish students who are enrolled at The University of Texas at Austin and welcome them on March 5, 2013, to the 12th annual reception honoring them at the Texas Senate; and

WHEREAS, Students from Mexico have studied at The University of Texas at Austin since 1940; the university and Mexico have historic ties due to shared academic endeavors, and the university's Graduate School of Business has developed joint degree programs with Mexican institutions; and

WHEREAS, In 1991, the Texas Legislature established a tuition assistance program to encourage students from Mexico with limited financial resources to study in our state, thus making Texas a responsive educational partner to Mexico; there are now 579 students from Mexico enrolled at the university; and

WHEREAS, Universities in Spain and The University of Texas have had ongoing relationships since before the 1980s; there are 40 students from Spain enrolled at The University of Texas; with 34 students from Texas studying in Mexico and 376 students from Texas studying in Spain, Spain is now the country of choice for University of Texas students studying abroad; and

WHEREAS, The generosity of BBVA Compass and their active participation in the university's community attest to their commitment to the university, and the school's distinguished record of educating Mexican and Spanish students is indicative of

S.R. No. 410

the successful collaboration between Texas and Mexico and Texas and Spain; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend BBVA Compass and the Mexican and Spanish students at The University of Texas at Austin for their special and unique contributions to the university and to our state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 5, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate