SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 435

In Memory of Pamela Jeanne Rogers

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Fort Worth in mourning the loss of Pamela Jeanne Rogers, who died February 15, 2013, at the age of 55; and

WHEREAS, Pam Rogers was born August 28, 1957, in Dallas; she graduated from Richland High School and earned bachelor's and master's degrees from Texas Woman's University; and

WHEREAS, She served as an educator at various area universities and maintained a career as an artist, and she built a legacy of positive activism to secure civil rights for members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community; and

WHEREAS, She was a cofounder of the rights advocacy group Fairness Fort Worth and played an important role in its response to the Rainbow Lounge raid; she designed T-shirts, banners, and advertisements for the organization's outreach efforts, and she was known for her ability to guide discussions toward constructive policy proposals and practices; and

WHEREAS, A woman of courage, determination, and compassion, she was untiring in her work to ensure that civil rights were extended to all, and her strength, her wise counsel, and her enthusiasm for living each day to the fullest will not be forgotten by those who were privileged to share in her life; and

WHEREAS, Pam Rogers was beloved by many, and she leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by her family and countless friends; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 435

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Pamela Jeanne Rogers: her partner, Angi Brown; and her siblings, Ed, Rob, Barbara, Doug, and Paul; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Pamela Rogers.

Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 11, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate