SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 467

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in recognizing United Way of Williamson County for its exceptional service to the community; and

WHEREAS, Chartered as Taylor Community Chest in October of 1939, this respected organization has been variously known as United Fund of Taylor and United Way of Taylor; in 2003, it merged with United Way of Greater Williamson County, which joined the Georgetown Area United Way in 2005; these organizations together formed United Way of Williamson County; and

WHEREAS, Within its service area are the towns of Taylor, Hutto, Georgetown, Jarrell, Round Rock, Leander, Cedar Park, and Liberty Hill; over the years, the agency's thousands of donors and volunteers have helped raise millions of dollars to address the needs of area citizens; and

WHEREAS, United Way of Williamson County helps communities by investing in local organizations and institutions that offer education, income, health care, and basic-needs services; and

WHEREAS, This unique agency helps to raise funds for the public good and channels those funds into areas where they are most needed; it manages tax preparation sites that provide free tax services for elderly and low-income clients; it also administers education programs, including an initiative that encourages adult involvement in mentoring projects; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed organization has for many decades been dedicated to serving families in need, and its members look forward to continuing their work and celebrating their organization's 75th anniversary in October of 2014; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 467

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend United Way of Williamson County and extend to its members sincere best wishes for success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for United Way of Williamson County as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 18, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

2