SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 485

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize The University of Texas at El Paso on the grand occasion of the 100th anniversary of its founding; and

WHEREAS, On April 16, 1913, Texas Governor O. B. Colquitt signed Senate Bill 183, creating the Texas State School of Mines and Metallurgy, to be established by the citizens of El Paso and overseen by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas; and

WHEREAS, The institution was renamed the College of Mines and Metallurgy in 1920, Texas Western College in 1949, and The University of Texas at El Paso in 1967; now widely known as UTEP, it is the second-oldest academic institution in The University of Texas System; and

WHEREAS, A national leader in American higher education, The University of Texas at El Paso was recognized by the National Science Foundation as one of six model institutions for excellence in the nation in 1996, by the Carnegie Foundation as a Doctoral and Research-Intensive institution in 2000, by the Texas Legislature as one of seven emerging Tier One institutions in the state in 2009, by the United States Department of Education as the national research institution with the lowest net price in 2012, and by Washington Monthly in 2012 with a 12th place overall ranking among all national research universities and a first place ranking for fostering social mobility in the lives of its graduates: and

lives of its graduates; and

WHEREAS, Many of the university's more than 100,000 alumni
are now accomplished leaders in the fields of science,
engineering, health, politics, business, law, entertainment,
arts, and education; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso currently ranks third among all United States universities in awarding bachelor's degrees to Hispanics and among the top 10 in preparing Hispanic students for success in completing doctoral degrees; and

WHEREAS, The university now offers 70 bachelor's, 75 master's, and 19 doctoral degree programs to its current population of nearly 23,000 students; and
WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso plays a

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso plays a significant role in the economic development and quality of life of the Paso del Norte region; and

WHEREAS, In 1966 the Texas Western College men's basketball team won the National Collegiate Athletic Association championship and marked a turning point in the history of American higher education that now inspires all UTEP students to achieve individual aspirations, fulfill family dreams, and enrich communities in Texas and across the nation; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso remains the only university in the state of Texas to win a men's national basketball championship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby honor The University of Texas at El Paso on the occasion of its 100th anniversary and commend the many individuals who have contributed to the success of the university; and, be it further

S.R. No. 485

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for The University of Texas at El Paso as an expression of high esteem and best wishes from the Texas Senate.

Rodriguez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 16, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate