## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 552

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Trietsch Memorial United Methodist Church on the occasion of its 30th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Trietsch Memorial United Methodist Church traces its roots to a small group of people who met in a school cafeteria; the church was formally established in March of 1983 on land donated by Irwin and Velma Trietsch; and

WHEREAS, Under the guidance and wise stewardship of its founding pastor, the Reverend Bill Jacobs, his successor, Dr. Jim Ozier, and the current pastor, Dr. John Allen, the church has grown significantly; today, there are nearly 4,500 members, and they are able to choose from a variety of traditional and contemporary services; the church is situated on a 15-acre campus and has state-of-the-art facilities, including a new Family Life Center and a full gymnasium; and

Center and a full gymnasium; and
WHEREAS, The church has instituted a highly successful
Vacation Bible School, and its outreach programs have provided
food for local children during the summer, support for the
Mozambique community of Chicuque in Africa, and homes for
residents on an Arizona reservation; and

residents on an Arizona reservation; and

WHEREAS, The celebration of its 30th anniversary is a reflection of the church's enduring commitment to its holy mission and to providing enlightenment and hope to members of its congregation and the community: now, therefore, be it

congregation and the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd
Legislature, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy and members
of Trietsch Memorial United Methodist Church on the joyous
occasion of its 30th anniversary, and be it further

occasion of its 30th anniversary; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the church as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 2, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate