## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 577

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize The University of Texas at Austin women's volleyball team, which won the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association national championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Longhorns won their first national title in volleyball since 1988 by sweeping the University of Oregon Ducks 25-11, 26-24, 25-19 in a match that saw them employ a stifling defense that led to 15 team blocks; and

WHEREAS, These young student-athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the season; team members Hannah Allison, Khat Bell, Kat Brooks, Nicole Dalton, Haley Eckerman, Megan Futch, Sara Hattis, Madelyn Hutson, Molly McCage, Sha'Dare McNeal, Amy Neal, Sarah Palmer, and Bailey Webster can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Jerritt Elliott, the Longhorns have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin and Texans across the state are proud of the Longhorns for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend The University of Texas at Austin women's volleyball team on its exceptional season and extend congratulations to team members on winning the 2012 national championship title; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 2, 2013.

## Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate