## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 607

WHEREAS, Captain Ken Baker retired from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in 2012, drawing to a close a notable career that spanned more than four decades; and

WHEREAS, A seventh-generation Texan, Ken Baker was born in Brownsville in 1947 and was raised on his family's farm and ranch in Cameron County; he graduated from San Benito High School and subsequently served his country in the United States Navy during the Vietnam War; and

WHEREAS, Captain Baker attended the Texas Game Warden Academy at Texas A&M University and began his work as a game warden in Edinburg in 1972; he served for many years in Hidalgo County, enforcing laws related to the area's natural resources and to boating on the Rio Grande, and became a well-known public servant in the area; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his tenure, Captain Baker saw his duties expand to include increased collaboration with homeland security officers supervising the border; promoted to sergeant and then to captain for the Rio Grande Valley District, he was thought to be the longest-serving active game warden in the state at the time of his retirement, with 41 years on the job; in addition, Captain Baker served his professional community as vice president of the Texas Game Warden Association; and

WHEREAS, The dedication and commitment to excellence demonstrated by this outstanding Texan greatly benefited his fellow citizens, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 607

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby congratulate Captain Ken Baker on his retirement from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Captain Baker as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa, Lucio

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 8, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate