## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 632

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jared Fogle, whose outstanding story of struggle and triumph in dealing with obesity has inspired millions to adopt healthier lifestyles; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fogle has been the spokesperson for Subway restaurants for 15 years, and he has used his celebrity status to spread a message about living a healthy lifestyle, including balancing diet and physical activity, through his own Jared Foundation; and

WHEREAS, As a leader in the fight to help children learn lifelong healthy diet and exercise habits, the Jared Foundation provides programs for children ages six to 14 years and support tools for parents, educators, and health care professionals to encourage and sustain lifestyle changes; and

WHEREAS, The Jared Foundation has partnered with the Coordinated Approach To Child Health program, or CATCH, a coordinated school health program designed to promote physical activity and healthy food choices to children, the research for which is led by the Michael and Susan Dell Center for Healthy Living at The University of Texas School of Public Health Austin Regional Campus; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fogle and CATCH have partnered with Fuel Up to Play 60, a partnership between Dairy MAX and the National Football League, to sustain and expand nutrition and physical activity in schools; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fogle has had a profound impact on the lives of countless people, and it is truly fitting that he be recognized for his contributions to improving the health of children and adults in Texas and across the country; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Jared Fogle on his many achievements and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 10, 2013.

## Secretary of the Senate