SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 661

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Thomas R. Craddick, former Speaker of the House of Representatives, who has been named a 2013 inductee to the Petroleum Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Speaker Craddick has represented the people of Midland since his 1968 election to the Texas House of Representatives as one of only nine Republicans; he gained fame in 1971 when he joined the Dirty 30, a bipartisan group of reformers that pushed for changes in the House ethics rules, and in 1975, he became the first Republican to be appointed to a committee chair in 100 years; and

committee chair in 100 years; and WHEREAS, He went on to play a vital role in the rise of the Republican Party in Texas; in 2003, he was elected by his peers as Speaker of the House after helping the Republicans to gain control of the chamber for the first time in more than 130 years; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his legislative service, Speaker Craddick has been a tireless advocate for the Permian Basin and for the Texas oil and gas industry; his leadership has earned him the Top Hand award from the Permian Basin Petroleum Association and the Hats Off award from the Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners Association; and

WHEREAS, Speaker Craddick has played a vital role in the growth and prosperity of the oil and gas industry in Texas, and it is truly fitting that he be honored for his outstanding leadership on its behalf; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Thomas R. Craddick on his exceptional legislative service and valuable contributions to the oil and gas industry of Texas and extend congratulations to him on his induction into the Petroleum Hall of Fame; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 15, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate