## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 662

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is honored to recognize the seventh class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program, conducted by the Senate Hispanic Research Council and named in memory of Senator Gregory Luna of San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, A true champion for the underrepresented and underserved in Texas, Senator Luna dedicated his life to public service and fought for educational equity; and

WHEREAS, A tribute to Senator Luna's admirable work in the Senate, this prestigious program was created to provide professional opportunities for undergraduate and graduate-level students from across the state to gain invaluable experience by serving as full-time legislative assistants in the Texas Senate and acquire the skills necessary to become successful leaders for our great state; and

WHEREAS, These Scholars and Fellows also coordinated the "KIPP's Day at the Capitol," which provides high school students from the KIPP Austin Public Schools with an inside look at the legislative process and promotes successful completion of their college admission process; and

The following Scholars WHEREAS, and Fellows have demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement in Senate offices: Omar Araiza from McAllen, serving in the office of State Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa; Alejandro Barrientos from Corpus Christi, serving in the office of State Senator Carlos Uresti; William Calve from Dickinson, serving in the office of State Senator Kirk Watson; Siddharth Dadhich from Cypress, serving in the office of State Senator Kel Seliger; Nacho Santiago from El Paso, serving in the office of State Senator José Rodríguez; Paige Duggins, from Cedar Hill, serving in the office of State Senator Judith Zaffirini; Norma A. Herrera from Pharr, serving in the office of Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst; Karla Hoyos from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator Craig Estes; Daniela C. Huerta-Garcia from Mexico City, serving in the office of State Senator Carlos Uresti; Maria Virginia Ivanez from Valencia, Venezuela, serving in the office of State Senator John Whitmire; Ivan Medina from Garland, serving in the office of State Senator Eddie Lucio; Dariel Ramirez from Dallas, serving in the office of State Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa; Brianna Roberts from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator Leticia Van de Putte; Nathan Salazar from Lubbock, serving in the office of State Senator Royce West; and Leah Marie Wise from Harlingen, serving in the office of State Senator Wendy Davis; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the members of the seventh class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program for their remarkable service this session and wish them continued success as they prepare to become the future leaders of our great state; and, be it further

our great state; and, be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be presented to them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

S.R. No. 662

Uresti

Davis Ellis Estes Garcia	Hinojosa Lucio Rodriguez Seliger	Watson West Whitmire Zaffirini
Galcia	Van de Putte	Lalllllll

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 22, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate