SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 686

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join Texans across the state in celebrating April 17, 2013, as Transit Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Texans are served by a number of metropolitan transit authorities, including the Corpus Christi Regional Transportation Authority, Capital Metro in Austin, the Fort Worth Transportation Authority, Dallas Area Rapid Transit, VIA Metropolitan Transit in San Antonio, the Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County, SunMetro of El Paso, the Denton County Transportation Authority and the members of the Texas Transit Association that provide public transportation services in their respective communities; and

WHEREAS, The state's transit authorities provide more than 285 million passenger trips each year, giving Texans the transportation they need in order to go to and from work, school, medical appointments, and countless other destinations; and

WHEREAS, Transit agencies offer citizens a wide variety of transportation systems, including traditional fixed-route bus service, park-and-ride options, van pools, rail service, downtown trolleys, and harbor ferries; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary organizations have led the way in providing transportation services for people with disabilities through such methods as para-transit service, accessible fixed-route service, and a broad range of mobility improvements in the streets and sidewalks of their communities; they are truly deserving of recognition for their commitment to public service; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 686

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the state's transit agencies on their exemplary service to the people of Texas and extend best wishes for a memorable Transit Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 17, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate