## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 695

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Baylor University Lady Bears basketball team, which won the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association championship title and recently made it to the Sweet Sixteen of the 2013 tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears won the 2012 title by defeating the Notre Dame Fighting Irish by a score of 80-61; led by Associated Press player of the year and tournament most outstanding player Brittney Griner along with her all-tournament teammates Odyssey Sims and Destiny Williams, the Lady Bears finished the game on a 33-11 run to clinch the championship; and

WHEREAS, By defeating Notre Dame, the Lady Bears won their second national championship and became the first basketball team in the history of the National Collegiate Athletic Association to finish a season with a record of 40-0, and with their success this season they have only two losses in the last two years; and

WHEREAS, 2012 and 2013 team members who contributed to this extraordinary achievement are Sunejiro Agbuke, Mariah Chandler, Terran Condrey, Ashley Field, Chardonae Fuquá, Brittney Griner, Kimetria Hayden, Kristina Higgins, Niya Johnson, Jordan Madden, Lindsay Palmer, Brooklyn Pope, Alexis Prince, Makenzie Robertson, Odyssey Sims, Shanay Washington, and Destiny Williams, and these exceptional players can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Kim Mulkey, associate head coach Bill Brock, assistant head coach Damion McKinney, and associate coach Rekha Patterson, and with the steadfast support of assistant director of women's basketball operations Johnny Derrick, director of basketball operations Edsel Hamilton IV, coordinator of basketball operations Jennifer Roberts, and student assistant Cherrish Wallace, the Lady Bears have developed outstanding teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, The students, faculty, and staff of Baylor University and the citizens of Waco are proud of the Lady Bears for their hard work, their exceptional skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the Baylor University Lady Bears on their record-setting season and extend congratulations on winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association championship title in 2012 and making it to the Sweet Sixteen in 2013; and, be it further

S.R. No. 695

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell, Hancock, Paxton, Taylor, Watson

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 17, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate