SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 712

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association and Texans across the state in celebrating April 14 through 20, 2013, as American Osteopathic Medicine Week; and

WHEREAS, Osteopathic medicine is a distinct form of medical practice that emphasizes a holistic approach to patient care while providing all the benefits of modern medicine, including prescription drugs, surgery, and the use of state-of-the-art technology; and

WHEREAS, Osteopathic physicians work in partnership with their patients; they consider the impact of lifestyle, community, and other factors that may have an effect on an individual's health, and they focus on supporting good health and preventing disease; these dedicated health care professionals also offer the hands-on system of therapy known as osteopathic manipulative medicine, which promotes the body's innate ability to heal itself; and

WHEREAS, There are currently more than 3,100 osteopathic physicians in Texas, many of whom studied at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center; this exceptional institution is dedicated to producing much-needed primary care physicians, with a focus on providing care in rural and urban underserved areas; and

WHEREAS, Osteopathic physicians have had a profound impact on the provision of health care in Texas, and it is truly fitting that a week be set aside to recognize their many contributions to the state; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 712

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association and extend to its members best wishes for a successful American Osteopathic Medicine Week; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the association as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 22, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate