## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 746

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Frederick D. Haynes III on the occasion of his 30th anniversary as pastor of Friendship-West Baptist Church in Dallas, which is being celebrated April 28, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Under the exceptional leadership of this charismatic orator and dedicated pastor, the congregation of Friendship-West Baptist Church has grown from 500 members to more than 12,000; and

WHEREAS, Over the last 30 years, Dr. Haynes has ministered faithfully to the temporal and spiritual needs of countless people; in addition to his work as a pastor, he has played an invaluable role in his community through his efforts to address issues of social justice and equality; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Haynes has provided guidance and leadership on such concerns as predatory payday lending, unjust enrollment policies for health insurance, wrongful convictions and disproportional incarceration rates, and complaints regarding equal opportunity rights in employment; to improve the lives of the people in his congregation and in the community, he has worked with elected officials and with such organizations as the Innocence Project of Texas, the Texas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty, the Anti-Poverty Coalition, and United Way; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Haynes has had a profound impact on his church and his community, and it is truly fitting that he be recognized as he reaches this milestone in his life and his career; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 746

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Frederick D. Haynes III on his outstanding achievements and extend to him best wishes for a memorable celebration in honor of his 30th year as pastor of Friendship-West Baptist Church; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 23, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate