SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 765

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in commending Dr. Ruben Amarasingham of Parkland Hospital, who is a recent recipient of the 2013 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Young Leader Award: Recognizing Leadership for a Healthier America; and

WHEREAS, An emerging leader in the medical field, Dr. Amarasingham is one of 10 young health care professionals nationwide to receive this new honor; the award was initiated this year to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, which promotes good health and healthier living among Americans; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Amarasingham is an assistant professor of medicine at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas and president of the Parkland Center for Clinical Innovation; he was one of 850 candidates, who were required to be age 40 or younger; this year's awardees were selected based on their innovations in health care and their vision for the future of health care; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding physician founded the Parkland Center for Clinical Innovation, a nonprofit research and technology development corporation; Dr. Amarasingham invented a software system that has had positive clinical impacts and is being readied for deployment nationwide; his pioneering technology is expected to help better the health and quality of life of patients across the country; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Ruben Amarasingham for receiving a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Young Leader Award and extend to him best wishes in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Dr. Amarasingham as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 8, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate