SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 776

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize The University of Texas at Austin men's golf team, which won the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association championship; and

WHEREAS, The Longhorns won their first national championship in golf in 40 years by defeating the University of Alabama by a score of 3-2; after falling behind 2-0, the Longhorns rallied to win three consecutive matches, clinching the title when senior All-American Dylan Fritelli sank a 30-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole at historic Riviera Country Club; and

WHEREAS, These young student-athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the year, winning eight tournaments; team members Dylan Fritelli, Cody Gribble, Will Griffin, Toni Hakula, Kramer Hickok, Alex Moon, Steffan Schmieding, Johnathan Schnitzer, Brett Spencer, Jordan Spieth, Tayler Termeer, Julio Vegas, and Adam Wennerstrom can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach John Fields, and with the support of assistant coaches Ryan Murphy and Jean-Paul Hebert, the Longhorns have developed exceptional discipline and consistency; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin and Texans everywhere are proud of the Longhorns for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend The University of Texas at Austin men's golf team on its successful season and extend congratulations to team members on winning the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 29, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate