SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 852

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texans Can Academies for their exceptional work in educating students who have struggled in a traditional high school setting; and

WHEREAS, Texans Can Academies are a network of 10 charter schools located in Dallas, Fort Worth, Houston, Austin, and San Antonio; they are tuition-free, open-enrollment, public high schools with a rigorous curriculum based on reading and critical thinking skills; and

WHEREAS, Texans Can Academies began as an outgrowth of Freedom Ministries, a nonprofit organization founded in 1976 by Grant East to work with juvenile offenders; the Dallas Can Academy was established in 1985 to provide remedial education, and the next year expanded its services to include high school dropouts and nonadjudicated youth; and

WHEREAS, New academies began to open across the state, and in 1995, Texans Can Academies were among the first charter schools in Texas; today, these model campuses offer additional assistance and training through ReadyToWork and the Pre-Admission Student Services Program to help their students succeed in today's complex world; and WHEREAS, The Texans Can Academies have had a profound

WHEREAS, The Texans Can Academies have had a profound influence on the lives of thousands of students, and it is truly fitting that these outstanding institutions be recognized for their exemplary efforts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the Texans Can Academies on their work in preparing students to be productive, contributing members of society and extend to them best wishes for continued success in this important endeavor; and, be it further

success in this important endeavor; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these fine schools as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate