## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 865

WHEREAS, Mother's Day is a celebration of motherhood that was first observed in the United States in 1908; and

WHEREAS, Women represent the fastest-growing segment of the United States workforce and now make up 47 percent of the total civilian labor force; women of childbearing age form a large segment of the labor market, and among all women with children under age three, 60 percent are in the workforce; and

WHEREAS, Working mothers include full-time mothers, those who work from home, those who work in the public and private sectors, and, particularly, those who work at the Texas Senate; and

WHEREAS, Working mothers especially thrive in family-friendly workplaces, including workplaces that support new mothers by providing them the opportunity to achieve work-life balance, peer support, and the privacy and flexibility necessary for them to reach their breastfeeding goals; and

WHEREAS, Many organizations across the state provide information and support for working mothers, including information about achieving work-life balance, identifying peer support, and breastfeeding their infants; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby express its gratitude to all mothers, especially to those who work in the Texas Senate; extend its best wishes for a memorable Mother's Day; and commend the efforts of all who promote family-friendly work environments for mothers; and, be it further

1

S.R. No. 865

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Zaffirini

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate