## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 893

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Comal County Tax Office, which was recently presented with a 2013 County Best Practices Award; and WHEREAS, Each year, the Texas Association of Counties

WHEREAS, Each year, the Texas Association of Counties honors county offices for outstanding achievements and effective management; the tax office received the award at the 2013 County Management Institute in Austin; and

Management Institute in Austin; and WHEREAS, The Comal County Tax Office was selected for the award due to its introduction of a convenient new way for residents to pay their property taxes; Comal County was the first county in the United States to employ a Quick Response Code, more commonly known as a QR Code, for property tax payments; and

commonly known as a QR Code, for property tax payments; and WHEREAS, This new feature allows citizens to use a mobile device to scan a QR Code that is on their tax statement; the process immediately routes the taxpayers to their specific property tax information and enables them to pay their taxes from anywhere in the world; and WHEREAS, Comal County Tax Assessor-Collector Cathy C.

WHEREAS, Comal County Tax Assessor-Collector Cathy C. Talcott and Chief Deputy Sharon Carlson were presented the 2013 County Best Practices Award for utilizing the QR Code on Comal County 2012 property tax statements; and

WHEREAS, By incorporating the latest advances in technology, Comal County is helping to make life easier for taxpayers, and its tax office is indeed deserving of recognition and praise; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend the Comal County Tax Office for earning a 2013 County Best Practices Award; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the Comal County Tax Office.

Campbell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate