SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 901

In Memory of Brandon James Landrum

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of First Lieutenant Brandon James Landrum of the United States Army, who died in the line of duty on May 4, 2013, at the age of 26; and

WHEREAS, This valiant soldier was deployed from Fort Bliss and had been serving in southern Afghanistan; he was assigned to the 1st Battalion, 36th Infantry Regiment, 1st Brigade Combat Team, 1st Armored Division and served as reconnaissance platoon leader; his military honors include the Purple Heart, the Bronze Star, and the Army Commendation Medal; and

WHEREAS, Born on December 5, 1986, in Lawton, Oklahoma, Brandon James Landrum held a degree from Cameron University; he joined the army in 2005 and was deployed to Iraq in 2008; he was a graduate of the Infantry Basic Officer Leaders Course and of the Airborne School; he arrived at Fort Bliss in January of 2012 and assumed leadership of the rifle platoon in Company A, 1st Battalion, 36th Infantry Regiment; in September of 2012, he was selected to serve as the reconnaissance platoon leader; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary soldier was a true American hero; he was also a proud father who was devoted to his beloved wife and two beautiful children; and

WHEREAS, A man of integrity and steadfast patriotism, First Lieutenant Landrum served his country with distinction and made the ultimate sacrifice; his heroism will long be remembered,

1

S.R. No. 901

and he leaves behind memories that will continue to be cherished by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of United States Army First Lieutenant Brandon James Landrum; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of First Lieutenant Brandon Landrum.

Rodriguez, Van de Putte

Garcia Hancock Hegar Hinojosa Huffman Lucio Nelson Nichols Patrick Paxton Schwertner Seliger Taylor Uresti Watson West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate