## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1013

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Lynn Forney Young, who is being installed as president general of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution on June 30, 2013, at the organization's annual Continental Congress in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Young will be the first Texan to serve as president general for this patriotic women's service organization, which boasts 170,000 members in 3,000 chapters across the United States and around the world; and

WHEREAS, She is a fourth-generation Texan and fourth-generation member of the Daughters of the American Revolution; she joined the organization in 1977 and currently serves as recording secretary general of the National Society and as honorary state regent of the Texas Society; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, Mrs. Young has served as chair of several national committees and held various offices on the state board, and she served as state regent of the Texas Society from 2006 to 2009; she has won numerous awards from the organization and has played a vital role in many special projects; and

WHEREAS, Prior to her installation as president general in Washington, D.C., Mrs. Young is being honored by the Heart of Texas Regents Council with a celebration luncheon in Waco on June 4, 2013; she is truly deserving of recognition for her exemplary service to the Daughters of the American Revolution; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 1013

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Lynn Forney Young on her many achievements and extend to her congratulations on her installation as president general of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell, Huffman

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 20, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate