SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1031

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Mike Motheral for his 37 years of outstanding service in the field of public education and his many contributions to the Sundown Independent School District and his community; and

WHEREAS, Mike Motheral is superintendent of the Sundown Independent School District and has served in that capacity since 1995; he began his career with the district in 1979 as a mathematics teacher and coach and went on to serve as the district's athletic director and as a principal at the elementary and high school levels before assuming the duties of superintendent; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, the Sundown Independent School District has earned Exemplary status for 11 of the last 12 years and has been awarded a Superior Achievement rating by the Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas; in addition, the district has been able to maintain a steady rate of enrollment while other districts in the region have experienced a decline; and

WHEREAS, His work in the Texas legislative process through leadership positions in such organizations as the Texas Association of School Administrators and the Texas Association of Community Schools has helped school districts across the state in the area of school financing; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary educator and administrator, he has worked hard to ensure that his district's students and faculty are provided with a safe environment that is conducive to learning; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Mike Motheral on his exceptional achievements in the field of education and his outstanding leadership as superintendent of Sundown Independent School District and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Duncan

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 22, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate