## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1043

WHEREAS, The tenure of an admired public official is drawing to a close as the Honorable Phil Dyer concludes his term as the mayor of Plano in 2013; and

WHEREAS, Phil Dyer began his notable career in public service in 1999, when he was elected to the city council; he served with that body for six years and went on to win election as mayor in 2009; and

WHEREAS, The Collin County community has further benefited from Mayor Dyer's leadership as chair of the City of Plano Parks and Recreation Board and Planning and Zoning Commission, the Plano Balloon Festival, and the Plano Community Home, as well as the local chamber of commerce, Red Cross, and United Way; in 1998, he was honored for his exceptional work with the Citizen of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at Austin, Mayor Dyer received his master's degree in business administration from Texas A&M University--Commerce, and today, this respected local businessman serves as president of LegacyTexas Bank; and

WHEREAS, Through his active participation in public life, Phil Dyer has greatly enhanced the community he is proud to call home, and it is indeed fitting that he be recognized for his invaluable contributions; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby honor Mayor Phil Dyer for his committed service to the people of Plano and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mayor Dyer as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Paxton

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 22, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate