H.B. 499

By: Guillen


Committee Report (Unamended)






Currently, members of the public transportation advisory committee advise the Texas Transportation Commission on the needs of the state's public transportation providers, including the allocation of public transportation funds, and comment on rules involving public transportation. Members of the advisory committee do not have term limits and serve at the pleasure of the appointing officer. Interested parties contend that the committee's lack of term limits has eroded its oversight by the appointing officers, which reduces accountability of the members and overall effectiveness of the committee. H.B. 499 seeks to implement term limits with the goals of increasing effectiveness and efficiency in the work of the advisory committee.




It is the committee's opinion that this bill does not expressly create a criminal offense, increase the punishment for an existing criminal offense or category of offenses, or change the eligibility of a person for community supervision, parole, or mandatory supervision.




It is the committee's opinion that this bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, department, agency, or institution.




H.B. 499 amends the Transportation Code to change the terms of the public transportation advisory committee membership appointed by the governor, lieutenant governor, and speaker of the house of representatives, from serving at the pleasure of the appointing officer to serving staggered six-year terms with the terms of three members expiring on February 1 of each odd-numbered year.  The bill requires a vacancy on the committee to be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for that position. The bill establishes that the terms of the advisory committee members serving on the bill's effective date expire on January 31, 2017, and requires the appointing officers to each appoint three members to the committee for terms beginning February 1, 2017, with applicable staggered expiration dates of February 1, 2019, February 1, 2021, and February 1, 2023.




September 1, 2015.