H.R. No. 689
         WHEREAS, South Texas College is now one of the largest
  community colleges in the state of Texas, and its development and
  success were aided significantly by the work of Dr. Juan E. Mejia
  during his exceptional 20-year tenure with the institution; and
         WHEREAS, Dr. Mejia served as department chair at Texas State
  Technical College before moving to what was then known as South
  Texas Community College in 1993; he served as chair of the health
  sciences programs for two years, and in 1996, he was appointed
  assistant vice president for academic affairs; and
         WHEREAS, He completed his notable service at the institution
  as vice president for academic affairs; in this role, he provided
  leadership for the academic team, including the deans, academic
  directors, campus administrators, department and program chairs,
  and faculty, and coordinated curriculum development; he was also
  responsible for overseeing accreditation, professional
  development, instructional grants, and university relations; and
         WHEREAS, Outside of his work with South Texas College,
  Dr. Mejia contributed his time and energy to a wide spectrum of
  educational committees and task forces; he served as chair of the
  South Texas Higher Education Regional Council as well as vice
  president and director of the National Council for Workforce
  Education, and he further benefited the state through his work as a
  steering committee member for the Texas State Leadership Consortium
  for Curriculum Development and the Texas State Leadership
  Consortium for Professional Development; and
         WHEREAS, A member of the Texas Skill Standards Board and the
  board of the Texas Association of College Technical Educators, this
  esteemed administrator has also lent his insight to the Texas
  Higher Education Coordinating Board on a number of its committees,
  including those on curriculum development, distance learning,
  developmental education, and community college baccalaureate
  programs; and
         WHEREAS, Dr. Mejia has completed programs of study at Texas
  State Technical College, Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi, and
  Texas A&M University--Kingsville, and he is committed to creating
  opportunities for others to achieve their educational goals; during
  the course of his career, he has been recognized for his
  achievements at the local, state, and national levels; and
         WHEREAS, Dr. Mejia left South Texas College in 2013 to accept
  a new position at Tyler Junior College, but his contributions
  continue to resonate widely in the halls of the institution that he
  formerly served, and the students and faculty of South Texas
  College were most fortunate to benefit from the vision and
  leadership that he provided them during his outstanding tenure;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
  Legislature hereby honor Dr. Juan E. Mejia for his service to South
  Texas College and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
  success and fulfillment; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Dr. Mejia as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
  Muñoz, Jr.
Straus Guerra Otto
Allen Guillen Paddie
Alonzo Gutierrez Parker
Alvarado Harless Paul
Anchia Hernandez Peña
Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan
Anderson of McLennan Howard Phillips
Ashby Huberty Pickett
Aycock Hughes Price
Bell Hunter Raney
Blanco Isaac Raymond
Bohac Israel Reynolds
Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle
Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi
Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Burns Keough Rodriguez of Travis
Burrows King of Hemphill Romero, Jr.
Button King of Parker Rose
Canales King of Taylor Sanford
Capriglione King of Uvalde Schaefer
Clardy Klick Schofield
Coleman Koop Shaheen
Collier Krause Sheets
Cook Kuempel Sheffield
Craddick Landgraf Simmons
Crownover Larson Simpson
Dale Laubenberg Smith
Darby Leach Smithee
Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer
Davis of Harris Lozano Springer
Deshotel Lucio III Stephenson
Dukes Márquez Stickland
Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria
Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris
Faircloth McClendon Tinderholt
Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin
Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris
Farney Meyer Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles VanDeaver
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villalba
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White of Bell
Galindo Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler
Geren Murphy Workman
Giddings Murr Wray
Goldman Naishtat Wu
Gonzales Nevárez Zedler
González Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 689 was adopted by the House on February
  24, 2015, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House