H.R. No. 2674
         WHEREAS, Residents of San Antonio for more than 200 years,
  the Arciniega family has long made important contributions to the
  Alamo City and the State of Texas; and
         WHEREAS, In 1803, a company of 100 Spanish lancers, the
  Second Flying Company of San Carlos de Parras, was sent from
  Coahuila to reinforce the presidio of San Antonio de Béxar; among
  the company was Gregorio Arciniega, who arrived in San Antonio with
  his wife, María Josefa Flores de Abrego, his son, José Miguel, and
  his daughter, Dolores; in November 1811, Gregorio Arciniega was
  granted a tract of land in San Antonio on Alamo Street, and he
  subsequently built a home on Arciniega and South Presa Streets; he
  died in San Antonio in 1822, and the property was inherited by José
  Miguel, his only son; and
         WHEREAS, Born in Coahuila on September 20, 1793, José Miguel
  Arciniega was a man of broad ability and experience; fluent in
  Spanish, English, French, and nine Native American dialects, he
  held at least 18 positions under three different flags; in the
  1810s, he made trips to gather information about the presence of
  Americans and foreigners in Northeast Texas, along the Trinity
  River, and at Galveston, and in 1823, he served as a member of the
  Texas provincial deputation to the Constituent Congress in Mexico
  City; three years later, he was sent to East Texas to ascertain the
  mood of the Cherokees, who had been trying to secure a land grant
  from the Mexican government, and he met with Richard Fields,
  diplomatic chief of the Cherokees, as well as with leaders of
  several other tribes; he was appointed captain of the militia in
  December 1826, and he was elected the following spring as one of two
  deputies from the District of Béxar to the legislature of the State
  of Coahuila and Texas; and
         WHEREAS, Named land commissioner for Stephen F. Austin's
  colonies in 1830, José Miguel Arciniega signed a four-league grant
  for the town of Bastrop, which he helped to plat; the people of San
  Antonio elected him twice as their alcalde, or mayor, during the
  1830s; Mexican general Martín Perfecto de Cos relied upon his skill
  as an interpreter in negotiations for the surrender of Béxar in
  1835, and that year, Arciniega was appointed second judge of Béxar;
  although he was selected as the Béxar delegate for the
  revolutionary Convention of 1836, his responsibilities at home kept
  him from attending; a man of substance, he held, in addition to
  property in San Antonio, a land grant of nearly 50,000 acres in what
  is now Hunt, Grayson, and Harrison Counties; and
         WHEREAS, This dynamic leader was united in marriage with
  María Alexandra S. Losoya in 1825, and they became the parents of 10
  children; after his passing in 1849, his descendants remained in
  San Antonio and the surrounding vicinity, and some 400 reside in the
  area today; they have united to preserve the rich oral tradition
  that tells of their illustrious ancestor, and they have followed in
  his footsteps, recording notable achievements of their own; fields
  of professional endeavor represented in the modern Arciniega family
  include the arts, education, finance, medicine, public service, the
  military, real estate, law, and the ministry; and
         WHEREAS, José Miguel Arciniega demonstrated a profound
  commitment to the community he helped shape, and some two centuries
  later, his descendants continue to bring honor to the family name;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
  Legislature hereby pay tribute to José Miguel Arciniega and commend
  his descendants for their efforts to raise awareness of his role in
  the history of our state; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the family as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Straus González Otto
Allen Guerra Paddie
Alonzo Guillen Parker
Alvarado Gutierrez Paul
Anchia Harless Peña
Anderson of Dallas Hernandez Phelan
Anderson of McLennan Herrero Phillips
Ashby Howard Pickett
Aycock Huberty Price
Bell Hughes Raney
Bernal Hunter Raymond
Blanco Isaac Reynolds
Bohac Israel Riddle
Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi
Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar
Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Travis
Burns Keough Romero, Jr.
Burrows King of Hemphill Rose
Button King of Parker Sanford
Canales King of Taylor Schaefer
Capriglione King of Uvalde Schofield
Clardy Klick Schubert
Coleman Koop Shaheen
Collier Krause Sheets
Cook Kuempel Sheffield
Craddick Landgraf Simmons
Crownover Larson Simpson
Cyrier Laubenberg Smith
Dale Leach Smithee
Darby Longoria Spitzer
Davis of Dallas Lozano Springer
Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson
Deshotel Márquez Stickland
Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria
Dutton Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris
Elkins McClendon Tinderholt
Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin
Fallon Meyer Turner of Harris
Farias Miles Turner of Tarrant
Farney Miller of Comal VanDeaver
Farrar Miller of Fort Bend Villalba
Fletcher Minjarez Vo
Flynn Moody Walle
Frank Morrison White of Bell
Frullo Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler
Galindo Murphy Workman
Geren Murr Wray
Giddings Naishtat Wu
Goldman Nevárez Zedler
Gonzales Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 2674 was adopted by the House on May 13,
  2015, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House