84R29815 BPG-D
  By: Giddings H.R. No. 2798
         WHEREAS, Outgoing members of the Dallas City Council are
  visiting the State Capitol on May 14, 2015, and this occasion
  provides an ideal opportunity to recognize them for their
  distinguished public service; and
         WHEREAS, Due to term limits, council members Tennell Atkins,
  Sheffie Kadane, Vonciel Jones Hill, Jerry Allen, Dwaine Caraway,
  and Carolyn Davis are all completing their tenures on June 22, 2015;
  they have worked together on numerous important issues and
  initiatives over the past eight years, including the Dallas Arts
  District, the streetcar to Oak Cliff, the modernization of Love
  Field, and the Trinity River Corridor Project; moreover, under
  their leadership, the city has enjoyed its lowest crime rate in
  decades; and
         WHEREAS, Tennell Atkins, who represents District 8, serves as
  mayor pro tem, as chair of the Economic Development Committee, and
  as vice chair of the Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee;
  moreover, he shares his business expertise with several other
  committees; and
         WHEREAS, The District 9 representative, Sheffie Kadane, has
  chaired the Public Safety Committee, and he has partnered with the
  Northeast Station of the Dallas Police Department to reduce area
  crime; in addition, he collaborated with the North Central Texas
  Council of Governments to secure funds for the Garland Road Vision
  Study; and
         WHEREAS, A former assistant city attorney and municipal court
  judge and now council member for District 5, Vonciel Jones Hill
  chairs the Transportation and Trinity River Project Committee; she
  received the Pleasant Grove Sector Best Public Official Award in
  2009, and she was also honored by the Southeast Dallas Business and
  Professional Women's Club that same year; and
         WHEREAS, Jerry Allen, the District 10 representative, has
  chaired the Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee since 2009, and he
  has served on a host of other committees; he worked tirelessly to
  secure passage of the Pay Day Lending Ordinance, which took effect
  in 2011, and persuaded other cities across the state to adopt
  similar ordinances; and
         WHEREAS, Formerly mayor of Dallas, Dwaine Caraway, of
  District 4, has long been a staunch supporter of municipal
  employees and Dallas Area Rapid Transit personnel, and he has
  advocated for business investment and the construction of the
  convention center hotel; he has been instrumental in closing down
  crime-plagued motels and drug houses in South Dallas and Oak Cliff;
         WHEREAS, Council member Carolyn Davis, the representative
  for District 7, serves on the task force on single-family housing
  standards, as well as on the boards of a number of community
  organizations, among them the African American Museum of Dallas;
  she is a recipient of the Allstate Community Service Award; and
         WHEREAS, Through their skill, dedication, and
  professionalism, these esteemed public servants have contributed
  significantly to the betterment of the city of Dallas, and they may
  indeed reflect with pride on their accomplishments; now, therefore,
  be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
  Legislature hereby honor the outgoing members of the Dallas City
  Council for their exemplary service and extend to them sincere best
  wishes for continued success in their future endeavors; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
  for the council members as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.